jump to navigation

The joys of a window… October 6, 2006

Posted by Topsy Turvy Mama in Random Thoughts, Work.
trackback

I really dont want to be here today…..  at work I mean.  Of course I want to be on my shiny new blog! 🙂  I always know that it is a bad sign when I wake up in the morning and it is pitch black out.  I dont get up at the crack of dawn or anything, so when the alarm clock goes off and I roll out of bed and trip over everything because there is not a shred of light peeking out from behind the blinds,  I know that it is going to be a dark dreary day.   Which makes me sleepy.  Which makes me totally unproductive at the office.  See, I have a window that my desk directly faces.  Sometimes having a window in my office is a glorious thing.  I can see the sunshine and the birds, and all of those happy kinds of things.  Then, there are two kinds of days when I wish the my window would just disappear.  The first is a day like today, when I look out and see dark, scary clouds.  And then rain.  Lots of rain.  Sometimes it can be fun watching people act insane because it has started to rain.  Ladies take their shoes off and run into the building or to their cars.  Men put folders, newspapers, or whatever else they may be holding over their heads as if that little square will save them.  But mostly the rain makes me want to curl up with a good book and go to sleep.  Too bad I cant accomoplish that at my desk!  The other days that are bad for having a window are the days that the city workers fire up the shit plant.  That’s right, directly through the trees, about a quarter mile away from my nice govt building, there is a shit plant.  At least that is what we call it.   When they fire it up and there is a nice breeze, you can totally walk into the office and feel like you are working in a toilet.  What a perk!  We had a summer intern one time who didn’t know about the shit plant and the entire summer she thought that I had some terrible bowel problem.  I only learned this at the end of the summer when she had been her for 2 months and finally said something because the smell was SO bad.  I could not believe it.  How embarassing!  At least she found out the real story.  I would not want her to be scared to come back. 

 So like I said, today is one of those dreary days.  It is still early and I am already itching to get out of here.  Hey, maybe the shit plant will fire up and give me a jolt of energy.  Enough to just say, that’s enough.  I am out of here.   🙂

Comments»

1. jennster - October 6, 2006

i haven’t even read this post.. don’t shoot me. lOL.. the cake. i bought it at SAFEWAY.. freaking safeway. do you have those where you are? lol

2. Jennifer - October 6, 2006

Congratulations on your new blog and thanks for commenting on mine. Thanks also for the children’s museum suggestions. Hopefully we will have time next week.


Leave a Reply

