jump to navigation

I know… November 7, 2006

Posted by Topsy Turvy Mama in Random Thoughts.
trackback

I am a total slacker.  No post in forever.  Not that I have not had anything to say, I just have not had time to say it!  Work has been busy and I have spent a lot of time researching places that I want to move.  I have applied for a job somewhere that is somewhat south of here, so we will see how that goes.

 Halloween went well.  T did not dress up, as expected.  He sat on the porch and handed out candy with me.  One little boy, about 3 years old, walked right past us and knocked on the door saying ‘Trick or Treat!”.  Tyler stood up, and said “That is MY door!”.   I was just thinking, what in the world?  I really had to hold back the laughter and tell him that people could knock on the door, because we have the share.  He is so cute and so very opinionated these days.  🙂 J had fun trick or treating with dad, and got a ton of candy of course.  We got pictures of A from his mom too, and he looked like he had tons of fun too!

 The rest of the week was uneventful as far as I can remember.  Maybe.  It was so long ago that I cant remember.  That is bad huh?  The weekend was nice, chilly, but at least not freezing yet.   J’s end of season baseball party was scheduled at 2 on Saturday.  I made a veggie tray and laid T down for a nap early so that we were sure to be on time.  At 1:25 my phone rings.  It is the team mom.  She changed the time of the party to 1 and did not bother to tell anyone accept for her little inner-circle of friends.  I think they are like a mommy club or something, and of course I am NOT a member.  I told her that we would be there as soon as possible.  She was all happiness, and oh don’t worry about it, we haven’t even started yet!  So we arrived about 20 minutes later, to see that everyone had already eaten, and that they were at the end of handing out trophies.  I was so enraged!  Yes, that is right, enraged, not just angry.  Did I not JUST talk to you on the phone?  Did I not tell you that we were on our way and you said no problem?  So why have you ruined this party for my child?  J got his trophy last and played with his friends.  Outside.  It was 50 degrees and windy as can be and they did not even invite people in the house.  It was the most poorly organized event I have ever seen.  Since a large portion of my job entails event planning, I can say that.  So HA!   Are you wondering whether I kept my mouth shut about this? NO, I did not.  I told Mrs. Team Mommy that she could have, and should have waited.  And I all got was an “Oh, sorry!”, with the condescending look.  I am SOOOO glad that he goes back to a team with normal people for the spring season! Ugh!

Compared to Sat., Sunday was uneventful.  Really, I dont remember anything accept for that T took an super long nap, and that I took it with him.  I was exhauted.  I guess it was all that attitude I output on Sat. huh? 

So, I have a question for you… is it annoying that I call my kids J, T, and A?  I saw on a post on someone’s site (no, I don’t remember who it was) that it was annoying.  They were requesting that people come up with something more original, not so generic.  What do you all think?

Comments»

1. Lilly - November 7, 2006

So sorry about that horrible team mom. I was angry just reading this and I’m glad you said something, even thought it sounds like nothing could get through to someone so clueless.

Personally I prefer the ‘J,T, and A’ to cute made up names. Lots of people use the first letter of their family members’ names and it works for me.

2. Irina - November 7, 2006

I think that using the first letters of your boys’ names isn’t annoying, but it is harder to keep track of who’s who. I also find from my blog reading and keeping experience that there is an unavoidable emotional disconnection for me as a reader when I feel like I’m not being trusted with names. I find myself skimming over the letters because they break up my reading and so I don’t fully invest in what is happening for each one of them. Does that make sense?


Leave a Reply

